Gå till huvudinnehållet
Det verkar som att du använder Internet Explorer 11 eller en äldre version. Den här webbplatsen fungerar bäst med moderna webbläsare som de senaste versionerna av Chrome, Firefox, Safari och Edge. Om du fortsätter med den här webbläsaren kan du få oväntad
Below you find links to some important encyclopedias. There are also several printed encyclopedias at the SOL Library. You find the encyclopedias within languages and linguistics in the reference section, shelf mark F(x).
Encyclopedia of applied linguistics
"This ground-breaking reference work, available online or as a 10-volume print set, is a comprehensive resource covering the highly diverse field of applied linguistics."
Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics
"...this encyclopedic dictionary provides the most complete and informative semiotics research tool of its kind in existence."
Ethnologue: languages of the world
"An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages."
"Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages".
Linguistics - Oxford Bibliographies
"Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects."
Below you find a selection of electronic handbooks within linguistics. There are also several printed handbooks in the reference section, shelf mark F.
The handbook of bilingualism and multilingualism
"Comprising state-of-the-art research, this substantially expanded and revised Handbook discusses the latest global and interdisciplinary issues across bilingualism and multilingualism."
Handbook of pragmatics online
"The Handbook of Pragmatics provides up-to-date information on research in the field of linguistic pragmatics, conceived as the interdisciplinary (cognitive, social, and cultural) science of natural language use. This electronic encyclopaedia of one of the major fields of language studies is a continuously updatable source of state-of-the-art information for anyone interested in language use."
Handbook of Translation Studies Online
"The Handbook of Translation Studies (HTS) aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods ..."
Sign language: an international handbook
"The first encyclopaedic reference book in the field of sign language research;
over 40 chapters covering all aspects of the linguistic study of sign languages;
extensively illustrated with examples from over 30 sign languages."
You will find more dictionaries in the reference section of the SOL Library. Look for them in the library catalogue LOVISA.
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (Brill)
"The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists."
Oxford English Dictionary
"The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past."
SIL Glossary of Linguistic Terms
"The SIL Glossary of Linguistic Terms provides information in the form of glossaries and bibliographies designed to support fieldwork and linguistic research."
Svenskt teckenspråkslexikon (Stockholms universitet. Institutionen för lingvistik) -
Swedish Sign Language Dictionary; in Swedish but here you will also find links to sign language dictionaries in other languages.
The Intercontinental Dictionary Series
"The Intercontinental Dictionary Series (IDS) is a database where lexical material across the languages of the world is organized in such a way that comparisons can be made. Historical and comparative studies and theoretical linguistic research can be based on this documentation."!