The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy is a concisereference to the whole history of western philosophy, from ancientGreece to the present day. Spans all the major branches of western philosophical inquiry,all of the key figures Explains the meaning and usage of each philosophical concept ina fresh and engaging style Each entry on philosophical terms concludes with anillustrative quotation from a significant philosopher, to enhancethe reader's understanding Entries on terms and individual philosophers are fullycross-referenced Co-written by the editor of the popular volume The BlackwellCompanion to Philosophy (Second Edition, 2002)
This is the first comprehensive reference to the vast field of world p hilosophy. The Dictionary covers all the major subfields of the dis cipline, with entries drawn from West African, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori, and Native American philosophy--including Nahua philosophy, a previously unexplored, but key instance of Pre-Hispanic thought. Entries include: abazimu; abortion; Advaita; afrocentricity; age of the world; artificial life; baskets of knowledge; bhakti body; brotherhood; chain of being; C hinese legalism; creation; cybernetics; darshana; death; dravya; euthanasia; love; madrash; memory; Mohism; paradox; passion; philosophy of education; speculative grammar; paranormal; Aouism; theurgy; truth; virtue; Zen and many more.
Research on medieval philosophy has advanced greatly in the last thirty years, but there has not been a comprehensive encyclopedia summarizing the current research available. This two-volume reference work fills that void. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE. It contains general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area, but it also provides more in-depth details and analyses of particular theories. Furthermore, in order to gain an insight into the social and cultural context of the material, entries are included on the teaching of philosophy, the career of philosophers, and the place of philosophy within the universities. Complete with cross-references between key words and related essays to enable efficient searches, this Encyclopedia is exhaustive, unprecedented, and user-friendly. It is indispensable for scholars of medieval philosophy and of the history of ideas, and it is also useful for anyone interested in medieval ideas and thought.
Unmatched in scholarship and scope, The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is the definitive single-source reference work on Ethics, available both in print and online. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts Is arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics Covers the major philosophical and religious traditions Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance with all entries being blind peer-reviewed
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
This bestselling dictionary is written by one of the leading philosophers of our time, and it is widely recognized as the best dictionary of its kind. Comprehensive and authoritative, it covers every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. With clear and concise definitions, it provides lively and accessible coverage of not only Western philosophical traditions, but also themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy. Entries include over 400 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day. New entries on philosophy of economics, social theory, neuroscience, philosophy of the mind, and moral conceptions bring the third edition of this dictionary fully up to date. Fully cross-referenced and containing over 3,300 alphabetical entries, it is the ideal introduction to philosophy for anyone with an interest in the subject, and it is an indispensable work of reference for students and teachers.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) är en filosofisk online-encyklopedi som drivs av Stanford University. Varje uppslagsord är skrivet av en expert på området. Bland dessa återfinns professorer från över 65 akademiska institutioner runtom i världen. Skribenterna ger Stanford University tillåtelse att publicera artiklarna men behåller upphovsrätten för texten. Artiklarna är peer reviewed.
Tryckta uppslagsverk tillgängliga på LUX-biblioteket Printed reference books available at the LUX Library
Ett urval uppslagsverk som finns tillgängliga elektroniskt eller på LUX-bibliotek
This one-stop reference book on the vital relationship between Scripture and ethics offers needed orientation and perspective for students, pastors, and scholars. Written to respond to the movement among biblical scholars and ethicists to recover the Bible for moral formation, it is the best reference work available on the intersection of these two fields. The volume shows how Christian Scripture and Christian ethics are necessarily intertwined and offers up-to-date treatment of five hundred biblical, traditional, and contemporary topics, ranging from adultery, bioethics, and Colossians to vegetarianism, work, and Zephaniah. The stellar ecumenical list of contributors consists of more than two hundred leading scholars from the fields of biblical studies and ethics, including Darrell Bock, David Gushee, Amy Laura Hall, Daniel Harrington, Dennis Olson, Christine Pohl, Glen Stassen, and Max Stackhouse.
This is a interdisciplinary study of the ethical and moral dimensions of human conduct in the areas of the life sciences and health care. It contains 460 articles and re-examines and expands on the previous edition.
The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
Product description: This ground-breaking 9-volume reference work, presented in A-Z format. Comprises over 700 entries, ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words in length, written by an international cast of subject experts. Is arranged across 9 fully cross-referenced volumes including a comprehensive index. Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics. Covers the major philosophical, legal and religious traditions. Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance with all entries being blind peer-reviewed