Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environment, Ecology and Geography links
E-books and blogs
Handbook on Human Rights in China by Examining both the theory and practice of human rights in China, this Handbook provides an important analysis of rights in China in comparison to international standards and China's international engagements concerning human rights. A wide range of civil and political, social and economic, and group rights in China are explored from an interdisciplinary perspective.Contributions provide a comprehensive and critical insight to the topic, examining the traditions behind modern human rights in China right up to contemporary issues such as the rise of the Internet and LGBTQ rights that are now at the forefront of attention across the globe. The Handbook also explores human rights in Greater China, and their relationship to rights in mainland China. Each chapter develops arguments surrounding significant issues, together revealing a complex reality where human rights recognition and protections are intertwined with Party-state programs and priorities, modes of governance and the demand for social and political stability. A vital read for international human rights academics and practitioners, this Handbook examines a thorough range of aspects of human rights in China. It would also be a useful read for international relations and Chinese studies scholars, as well as those with a keen interest in modern China.
Publication Date: 2019-06-28
- Hong Kong University Thesis Online The Hong Kong University Theses Collection holds 16,787 titles of theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. The first recorded thesis was dated 1928, though all theses prior to 1941 were lost during the occupation of WWII. HKUTO includes works in the arts, humanities, education and the social, medical and natural sciences. Many of them deal entirely with or focus on subjects relating to Hong Kong. The collection is primarily in English, with some in English and Chinese, and others in Chinese only. Almost all HKU theses are included in HKUTO. Missing ones might be located in HKU departmental libraries. HKUTO now includes 14,831 fulltext electronic theses.