The Chicago Manual of Style will be the reference system you are going to use when you are writing your final essay.
You can find a quick guide to The Chicago Manual of Style here, and a more extensive guide here.
There are two different styles within the Chicago style, called “Notes and Bibliography Style” and “Author-Date Style”. The one you shall use is the “Notes and Bibliography Style”.
The style is used a lot in the humanities and in some social sciences. The library offers a few books on the subject and you are welcome to visit the library and read them on site. If you need some help, don't hesitate to contact the library.
You can take a look at some old yearbooks here, to see how former students have written.
A film about how to use references
Why should I invest time in a reference management program?
A reference management program will help you collect and sort the references you need in your work. Your program is built like a personal library, customized for your personal needs.
Your library will also be accessible (for some programs, for example EndNote) through Microsoft Word - this will help you create the references within the text as well as the bibliography in an output style of your choice.
What program should I use?
The Lund University Libraries Head office and LDC have a site license agreement which makes EndNote available to students and faculty at Lund University. The license are financed by the Lund University Libraries Head office and distributed by LDC.
There are many other programs available, some you need to buy a license for yourself, other are free accessible on the Internet.
You can find Lunds University Libraries site on Reference management here.
The work of writing scientific texts includes referring to the texts and other sources that you have used in a conventional and consistent way. When you write an academic text, you base your own work on what other authors have contributed, and you must be careful to distinguish your own contribution from that of others. You do this by using references in the text and references collected in a list at the end of the paper or essay. Writing clear citations and references is a part of research and academic studies that goes under the concept of academic integrity.
Read more on reference management on Lund University Libraries webpage.
Plagiarism means imitating or copying someone else’s work, for instance a text, picture or diagram, presenting the material as your own. Plagiarism is not accepted within the scientific community.
Read more on plagiarism on the HT-library website.
Urkunds plagiarism handbook (PDF)
Lund University is connected to the text matching tool Urkund. The plagiarism handbook gives clear examples of text sections that are considered plagiarism.
Read more about academic integrity on the Lund University homepage.
A review or research overview does not report the results of an individual study. On the other hand, it describes, analyses, summarizes and evaluates published research within a defined subject area. Review articles give a picture of what research looks like in a subject area and are a good basis for further research.
You will find research overview articles in books, scientific journals and in reports from authorities, for example.
You can find review articles in books like:
Annual Review of..., Handbook of..., Research in..., Advances in...
When searching in international databases, you can combine your search terms with, for example: literature review or systematic review.
When you search for material, you can combine your search terms with, for example: research overview, literature review, literature study.
The journal Review of Research in Education publishes review articles.
Scientific journals publish articles written by researchers and experts in a subject area. They can present new research findings and results, critical evaluations of previous research, or be purely theoretical. A peer-reviewed journal article means that the scientific quality of the article has been checked by other researchers before it is published. Original scientific articles that describe the results of a research project are also characterized by the fact that they contain the following elements:
Abstract (summary of content)
Purpose and Issues
Method & Material
Results
Discussion
Reference list