Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

Writing and sources

A guide on writing and the use of sources intended for students at the department of Biologi and CEC.

Species information

ArtDatabanken

ArtDatabanken (the SLU Swedish Species Information Centre) undertakes work within the field of Swedish biodiversity, commissioned by the Government and other authorities. ArtDatabanken has developed the resource Artfakta, where you can find information (in Swedish) about species in Sweden, including their status, ecology, and identification characters.

Fauna Europaea

Fauna Europaea is Europe's main zoological taxonomic index. The database includes scientific names and distributions of all multicellular land and freshwater animal species found in Europe today. Fauna Europaea also contains a taxon tree and a database over taxonomic experts in Europe.

Birds of the World

Birds of the World is a database of species accounts of the world’s birds. Each account contains information on distinguishing characteristics, distribution, systematics, behavior, ecology, demography, conservation, and priorities for future research.

Kew databases

Kew Gardens in England house one of the largest and most diverse botanical and mycological collections in the world. The Kew databases contains data and resources concerning plants and fungi such as herbarium and fungarium catalogues, a seed information database, a DNA and tissue bank, accepted plant and fungal names, lists of synonyms and medicinal plant names, and much more. 

The IUCN Red List

The International Union for Conservation of Nature’s (IUCN) Red List is the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.

Global Invasive Species Database

The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) is a free online source of information about alien and invasive species. The GISD is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the IUCN Species Survival Commission. 

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) 

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is a database of genetic and molecular biology data forthe model plant Arabidopsis thaliana. TAIR is managed by the nonprofit Phoenix Bioinformatics Corporation.