Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: eBooks on EBSCOhost

 


 

eBooks on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary) is a database that contains ebooks in full text. Lund University currently has access to more than 6,700 ebooks on EBSCOhost (January 2021). A few useful things to know about eBooks on EBSCOhost before you try to read or borrow them:
Check out (låna/ladda ner)… when you choose Download This eBook (Offline) you borrow the book.
Check in (återlämning)… ebooks doesn’t have to be returned or checked in. When the due date or number of days expires, it is no longer possible to access or read the ebook.
Place a hold (reservera, köa)… when you wait your turn for a book that’s out on loan you place the title on hold.
Cancel a hold (avboka en reservation)… there is no need for cancelling a hold, see Hold Ready Duration and Hold Request.

Hold Ready Duration (hämta reservationen)… you have 24 hours to claim your hold after receiving an email notification that it is available. If you don’t claim the ebook the next person in line will get access to the ebook.
Hold Request (din reservation)… if you place a hold on an ebook but do not claim it within six months your hold will be removed.
Renew (låna om)… it isn’t possible to renew ebooks, if you want to borrow the book again you have to download it again.

The ebooks on EBSCOhost are available in different collections with different access models and checkout periods:
 - LUB Collectionwith either 1 user, 3 simultaneous users, or an unlimited number of simultaneous users. These books can be downloaded (borrowed) for 3 days.
 - LUB Collection CAMwith an unlimited number of simultaneous users up to a maximum of 365 credits (1 credit = 1 day) per book and year. These books can be downloaded (borrowed) for 3 days. To see the number of credits available, click on the titel to see the full record and Concurrent User Level. If it says Limited User Access (361 Uses Available) it means that the book has 361 credits left.

- LUB Collection DRM-freewith an unlimited number of simultaneous users. These books are free from Digital Rights Management restrictions and can be downloaded, printed and copied an unlimited number of times without sign-in to MyEBSCOhost, Adobe Digital Editions or other special software. The only requirement is that you access the books via the authenticated links in LUBsearch and ePublications.
 - SamKon Collectionthese books are shared by the Social Sciences SamKon-konsortia and only have 1 user access. They cannot be downloaded/borrowed and are read-online only.
 - EBSCOhost Public Domain Collectionthis collection includes more that 3,400 fiction and non-fiction books that are in the public domain, i.e. older literary works that are no longer under copyright. They have an unlimited number of simultaneous users and can be downloaded/borrowed for 1 day.

In the Result List of LUBsearch and ePublications there is a link to 'Terms of Use' where you will find information about the number of simultaneous users and the terms of use for downloading and printing for each individual ebook:

Information

Name eBooks on EBSCOhost
Publisher/Provider EBSCO Publishing
Subjects included Multidisiplinary
Type of resource Platform containing ebooks
Fulltext format PDF, EPUB
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users The number of concurrent users varies. Many titles have unlimited number of concurrent users, but most titles have either 1 to 3 user access. If a book isn't available when you try to download it you can place a hold on it and recieve an e-mail when it's available.
Download required No, the ebooks are available for online reading in the eBook Viewer, just click on the eBook Full Text link.
Must be borrowed Only if you want to download the ebook and read it offline
Number of days for download The checkout period varies depending on the type of ebook.
Download and read offline Yes, click on the Download This eBook (Offline) link. Please note that before you can download an ebook you must login to your personal account (free), to create a new account click on Sign in (in EBSCOhost) or My Folder (in LUBsearch) at the top of the site. Your Student Account or LUCAT can not be used for this! After one (1) hour of inactivity you will be timed out of your EBSCOhost session.
Download to a portable device Yes. See the tutorial, Downloading EBSCO eBooks to your mobile device.
Copying You may electronically download and save a single copy of an individual chapter of an ebook, for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. Up yo sixty (60) pages of an ebook can be copied per user in the Full Text viewer. The number of pages you are allowed to copy varies depending on the publisher, some publishers does not allow copying at all. If you have reached your copying limit, the option to save ebook pages will be temporarily unavailable.
Printing You may print a single copy of an individual chapter of an ebook for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. Up yo sixty (60) pages of an ebook can be printed per user in the Full Text viewer. The number of pages you are allowed to print varies depending on the publisher, some publishers does not allow printing at all. If you have reached your printing limit, the option to print ebook pages will be temporarily unavailable.
Text to speech Yes, the PDF files are compatible with text-to-speech software.
Export references Yes
Export formats You can save citations to a file formatted for: Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) ; Direct Export to EndNote Web ; Generic bibliographic management software ; Citations in XML format ; Citations in BibTeX format ; Citations in MARC21 format ; Direct Export to RefWorks.
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to eBooks on EBSCOhost, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another non-commercial library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper copy of a document. This can be done by post or fax, but not via e-mail. By ‘document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete journal volume or a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous Problems with Microsoft Edge and some of EBSCO's interfaces has been reported, so if you are using Microsoft Edge and are experiencing problems please try Firefox or Google Chrome instead.