GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database that offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment in a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Also included in GreenFILE is a 6,800-term Thesaurus.
See the Title List for journals covered in GreenFILE.
PLEASE NOTE that GreenFILE is an index database that in most cases does NOT contain any full text.
About 5,000 records have links to full text in Open Access titles. These can be found by using Advanced Search and checking the "Full text" box.
Other institutions with Sustainability Studies within LU
Archaeologists and anthropologists have long studied artifacts of refuse from the distant past as a portal into ancient civilizations, but examining what we throw away today tells a story in real time and becomes an important and useful tool for academic study. Trash is studied by behavioral scientists who use data compiled from the exploration of dumpsters to better understand our modern society and culture.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management addresses the core definitions and issues in pure and applied ecology. It is neither a short entry dictionary nor a long entry encyclopedia, but lies somewhere in between. The mixture of short entry definitions and long entry essays gives a comprehensive and up-to-date alphabetical guide to over 3000 topics, and allows any subject to be accessed to varying levels of detail; while the longer entries provide general reviews of subjects, the short definitions provide specific details on more specialised areas.
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change helps readers learn about the astonishingly intricate processes that make ours the only planet known to be habitable. These three volumes include more than 750 articles that explore major topics related to global warming and climate change--ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes.
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, the 3rd edition of the award-winning "Environmental Encyclopedia provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
The first-and only-source to integrate the multiple disciplines and professions exploring the many ways people interact with the natural and designed environments in which we live. Comprised of more than 600 informative entries, The Encyclopedia of Human Ecology examines the interdisciplinary and complex topic of human ecology. Knowledge gathered from disciplines that study individuals and groups, such as biology, nutrition, psychology, and sociology, is blended with information about environments from the fields of family science, geography, anthropology, urban planning, and environmental science.