Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

Psychology - a subject guide: Subject Resources

A subject guide made for students and staff at the The Department of Psychology at Lund University

LUBsearch

Books

Look for books either in LUBcat or Libris.

Course books within psychology are located at the Social Sciences Faculty Library. The loan period is 14 days and we always have at least one reference copy in our collection.

Key databases - psychology

See all databases availabe at Lund University in Databases A-Z.

About the databases

PsycINFO is the most established database in the field of psychology! The thesaurus, by American Psychological Association (APA), is particularly useful. See their journal coverage list here.

SocINDEX is a sociology research database, including research in the fields of Social Psychology, Social Structure, Social Work, et cetera.

PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

​​PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Keep in mind that you mostly access the reviews and not the actual tests.

PsycTHERAPY is a database focusing on recorded therapy sessions.

Psychotherapy.net contains video recordings of lectures and therapy sessions.

Web of Science consists of five databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, and more. The database has a tool for following citations.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

PsycINFO: Using the Thesaurus

Social Sciences Faculty Library

Subtitles available in English.

Scopus: Analyze Tool

Social Sciences Faculty Library

Subtitles available in English.

Scopus: Follow Citations

Social Sciences Faculty Library

Subtitles available in English.

Review articles

A good start when you are seaching for articles within a subject field is to go to a journal that publish review articles. Here are some examples. You can also get results by searching for "Literature Review" in the Subject field within the PsycINFO database.

Consider looking at SBU, the national authority that assesses health care and social service interventions from a broad perspective. They publish their findings in systematic reviews.

Encyclopedias for Psychology

We've collected interesting encyclopedias within all fields for the Social Sciences. From our Research Methods guide.