Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lund University

Reference guide for APA 7th edition

Reference guide for APA 7th edition intended for students at the department of Biology and CEC, Lund University. NB! If you access the guide using a smartphone, please note that the text will open below the menu.

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

The instructions on this page concern references to entries in encyclopedias and dictionaries. Some encyclopedias/dictionaries will have a group author, e.g. organization or company, instead of a personal author. If the publisher is the same as the group author, omit the publisher from the source element. If the encyclopedia/dictionary does not have an editor, leave out this part and simply state "In" followed by the title of the encyclopedia/dictionary. For entries in online encyclopedia or dictionary, include the month and day in the publication date if available. If the online reference work is continously uppdated and the versions are not archived, state "n.d." as the year of publication and conclude the reference with information on the retrieval date in addition to the URL. 

If a DOI has been assigned to the encyclopedia/dictionary, include this number in the reference. If no DOI has been assigned and the encyclopedia/dictionary was accessed online from a nondatabase website, use the URL of the webpage from which it was retrieved. If the encyclopedia/dictionary was accessed in print or retrieved from an academic database, no URL is included.

Do not forget to consult the general instructions on how to write references according to APA (7th edition), including how to write in-text references and construct a reference list, the number of authors to be included, how to write references to two or more works within the same parenthesis, what to do if you have several references with the same author and publication date, how you cite specific parts of works, how to handle incomplete reference information (e.g. missing author information or no publication date), and when/how to use acronyms.

Template

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (YYYY). Title of entry. In C. C. Editor & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia/dictionary (#th ed., Vol. #, pp. page number-page number). Publisher. DOI or URL

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (YYYY, Month DD). Title of entry. In C. C. Editor & D. D. Editor (Eds.), Title of encyclopedia/dictionary. Publisher. URL

Name of Group. (n.d.). Title of entry. In Title of encyclopedia/dictionary. Publisher. Retrieved Month DD, YYYY, from URL


Examples:

In-text references  

(Dahlgren et al., 2008)            

(Nationalencyklopedin, n.d.)

(Rogers et al., 2019)

Dahlgren et al. (2008) summarized...

According to Nationalencyklopedin (n.d.)

Rogers et al. (2019) defines...

Reference list

Dahlgren, R.A., Macías, F., Arbestain, M.C., & Chesworth, W. (2008). Acid soils. In W. Chesworth (Ed.), Encyclopedia of soil science. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-3995-9_7

Nationalencyklopedin. (n.d.). Akvakultur [Aquaculture]. In NE.se. Retrieved October 8, 2020, from https://www.ne.se/uppslagsverk/ordbok/svensk/akvakultur

Rogers, K., Green, E. R., & Joshi, S. H. (2019, November 25). Biology. In Encyclopædia britannica. Retrieved December 12, 2019, from https://www.britannica.com/science/biology