Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interdisciplinary Portals and Journals
Development Studies : portals, databases, ebooks and journals
The Companion to Development Studies, Third Edition by The Companion to Development Studies contains overnbsp;a hundrednbsp;chapters written by leading international experts within the field to provide a concise and authoritative overview of the key theoretical and practical issues dominating contemporary development studies. Covering a wide range of disciplines the book is divided into ten sections, each prefaced by a section introduction written by the editors. The sections cover: the nature of development, theories and strategies of development, globalization and development, rural development, urbanization and development, environment and development, gender, health and education, the political economy of violence and insecurity, and governance and development. This third edition has been extensively updated and contains 45 new contributions from leading authorities, dealing with pressing contemporary issues such as race and development, ethics and development, BRICs and development, global financial crisis, the knowledge based economy and digital divide, food security, GM crops, comparative urbanism, cities and crime, energy, water hydropolitics, climate change, disability, fragile states, global war on terror, ethnic conflict, legal rights to development, ecosystems services for development, just to name a few. Existing chapters have been thoroughly revised to include cutting-edge developments, and to present updated further reading and websites. The Companion to Development Studies presents concise overviews providing a gateway to further reading and a flexible resource for teaching and learning. It has established a role as essential reading for all students of development studies, as well as those in cognate areas of geography, international relations, politics, sociology, anthropology and economics.
Call Number: Read online
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
Human Rights : portals, databases, ebooks and journals
Handbook on Human Rights in China by Examining both the theory and practice of human rights in China, this Handbook provides an important analysis of rights in China in comparison to international standards and China's international engagements concerning human rights. A wide range of civil and political, social and economic, and group rights in China are explored from an interdisciplinary perspective.Contributions provide a comprehensive and critical insight to the topic, examining the traditions behind modern human rights in China right up to contemporary issues such as the rise of the Internet and LGBTQ rights that are now at the forefront of attention across the globe. The Handbook also explores human rights in Greater China, and their relationship to rights in mainland China. Each chapter develops arguments surrounding significant issues, together revealing a complex reality where human rights recognition and protections are intertwined with Party-state programs and priorities, modes of governance and the demand for social and political stability. A vital read for international human rights academics and practitioners, this Handbook examines a thorough range of aspects of human rights in China. It would also be a useful read for international relations and Chinese studies scholars, as well as those with a keen interest in modern China.
Publication Date: 2019-06-28