Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information about this guide
Newspapers and Magazines around the world
"With this online academic research database, college faculty and students can find the critical news, legal and business information they need.
Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects."
Access through NIAS and Asia Portal
Databases and database trials
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Glossary
The Asia Library - one of the HT Libraries
See our web page for opening hours. Asia Library is a one of the three libraries at the Joint faculties of Humanities and Theologie, and placed in the Centre för East and South-East Asian Studies. The other two libraries are SOL (at the Language and Literature Centre) and LUX (in the LUX building).
For your research
At the Centre you should classify your publication according to UKÄ. You should have one classification that states the following (marked in bold text): Social Sciences - Other Social Sciences - Social Sciences Interdisciplinary
You can also add more classifications when appropriate.
For information specific to the Faculties of Humanities and Theology, regarding the registration requirements LUCRIS, please refer to the Minimum requirements for registration in LUCRIS at the HT Faculties.
You should also write in several keywords describing your publication, presentation or other contribution. Asian studies is mandatory if it concerns Asia.
For help with your information retrieval for your research, or for holding courses for your students in source criticism et al, please contact your subject librarians at the Asia Library.
Apply for Research Grants and Funding
The Article Processing Charges (APC) fund at LU
"As part of the recommendations for open access publishing, Lund University has allocated central funds since 2008 for promoting publishing in OA journals. The Article Processing Charges (APC) funds provides opportunities for researchers at Lund University to receive partial funding for publishing articles in OA journals. The funds are administered by the University Library."
European Research Council
"The ERC's mission is to encourage the highest quality research in Europe through competitive funding and to support investigator-driven frontier research across all fields, on the basis of scientific excellence."
"GlobalGrant is an international database for scholarships, grants funding and financing of all kind. Funding can be found that is centered towards schools, universities, hospitals and charities. Note! Read Help before you start. The English version does not contain Swedish or Norwegian grants. "
Lund University is a member of LERU – the League of European Research Universities. LERU is a non-profit organisation made up of 21 research-intensive and specially invited universities.
Operations i China
"An important part of the internationalisation efforts at Lund University, the number of collaboration platforms in Asia contribute to increasing Lund University’s profile in the region, and guarantee sustainable collaboration with Asian universities."
"Prisma is an application system. Here you can apply for research grants and manage your funded grants. As a reviewer, here is where you find all the information and review tasks."
"Research Professional (RP) is an online database of research funding opportunities. Lund University has a subscription to RP, which means that employees and students at LU may access to the database by registering as a user. RP has a global coverage of funding opportunities and it provides several search possibilities. It is also possible to create alerts, save and e-mail searches in the database. To register for a user account, it is necessary to be connected to the LU campus network . Once registered it is possible to access the RP from any computer connected to internet. "
SIDA-sponsered scholarships for teachers
" Sida supports a number of grants and stipends for students and teachers at universities, colleges and vocational schools.
Although all these scholarships are funded by Sida, they are administered by the Swedish Council for Higher Education, where you can also find more information about the application process."
Vetenskapsrådet /The Swedish Research Council
"The Swedish Research Council allocates around SEK 6,4 billion in funding for basic research of the highest scientific quality in all areas of research each year. All applications for funding are subject to rigorous quality testing, known as peer review. "
U21 - Universitas 21
Universitas 21 is a global network made up by 25 research-intensive, full-scale and prominent universities in 16 countries. The purpose of the network is to encourage and facilitate mobility between member universities, and to create conditions for collaboration and development projects within education, research and administration. The network facilitates information exchange, the sharing of best practice and expert knowledge.
The overall strategy of U21 is to strengthen and encourage joint research collaboration regarding global, sustainable development to find solutions for global societal challenges.
"Vinnova is Sweden’s innovation agency. Our mission is to promote sustainable growth by improving the conditions for innovation, as well as funding needs-driven research.
Vinnova’s vision is for Sweden to be a world-leading country in research and innovation, an attractive place in which to invest and conduct business. We promote collaborations between companies, universities, research institutes and the public sector. We do this by stimulating a greater use of research, by making long-term investment in strong research and innovation milieus and by developing catalytic meeting places. "