Skip to main content
Lund University

LUBsearch & Electronic Resources: How does LUBsearch work?

How does LUBsearch work?

The way LUBsearch works can be simply broken down into the following five steps, from searching to linking to full text (or article request/interlibrary loan).

Read more about the five steps below:

 

Searching (simple or advanced)

 

If you do not make any changes before searching, you will get results in the libraries’ collections (electronic full text and printed material in LUBcat).

The simple search interface enables you to make selections affecting the results you will get (see image below):

  • Keyword can be replaced with Title or Author for more precise searches.
  • Under Search Options, you can choose Date Published (time span), whether the results are to be Peer Reviewed or whether you want to search beyond the library collections (Accessible at Lund University).

 

 

See Searching in LUBsearch for more information.

 

The index in LUBsearch

 

LUBsearch’s index contains several hundred thousand entries, mainly on research material. From a content point of view, it is a mere fraction of what Google contains, but LUBsearch contains a qualitative selection and, with the default settings, it lists material which is available at LU. See Content in LUBsearch for more information.

 

The result lists

 

The result lists gathers results which match the search criteria, ranked in order of relevance. The results are ranked according to the location of the search terms in the entries:

 

1. In the field for the subject word from checked thesauruses (subject glossaries)
2. In the title
3. Among the article author’s subject words
4. In the abstract
5. In the full text (if it is indexed by EBSCO and if the option is selected)

 

Exact matches are ranked highest, but the location of the search terms is also taken into account. How often the search terms feature in relation to the length of the text (density) also counts, in particular if they feature in the title, subject word field or abstract. Other factors which affect the ranking:

 

– Document type: some types can be assigned a lower value

– Publication date: in case of equivalent relevance, the most recently published document is ranked higher

– Length: in case of equivalent relevance, longer articles are ranked higher than shorter ones

 

LUBsearch does not take as much account of the proximity of the search terms as Google, so sometimes articles are not ranked highest in the results list even though you have searched for the entire title. In order to achieve the same result as in Google, we recommend phrase searches, i.e. placing the title between quotation marks in the search field, "Bounding Rationality to the World", forces LUBsearch to look for results where the words appear exactly as they do between the quotation marks.

For more information on how the results list is designed and the facets in the left hand menu, see Searching in LUBsearch.

 

Linking to full text

 

LUBsearch features different types of links to full text, such as:

 

 

If you search in LUBsearch with the default settings, everything in the results list should be accessible either as electronic full text or as a physical document (at one of the libraries at Lund University). The paths to full text can be very varied, but usually full text is accessible from the publisher’s website and you have to follow the links to reach it.

 

More about Full Text Finder (which can also be accessed from other databases which LU has).

 

Requesting articles and interlibrary loans (BasILL)

 

If the material you are looking for is not available at LU, a link to BasILL will appear (the system for article requests/interlibrary loans) in the LU Linker menu. BasILL requires you to log in with student account or LUCAT.

You can also go to LUBITO to request PDF copies from many printed research journals available at Lund University Library.