If you have a known reference, e.g. an article title and author or year, there are several ways of locating the article in full text. The procedures can be divided into two groups, described below:
Searching in a search engine
You can easily access the full text using different search engines. Here are a few possible options:
- LUBsearch – search for the whole title, if you get many results, enter the title between quotation marks, e.g. "Management of early and locally advanced cervical cancer". Via Full Text Finder (formerly LU Linker), you can often reach the article in full text (in exceptional cases you may be linked to the journal’s first page if it is technically impossible to link to a single article). Sometimes there are direct links to the full text in the results list.
- Google – if you search for an article title, for example, you can find the article directly on the journal’s website. Then you can access the full text if you are working within the LU network or if you have logged in to LUBsearch for example using your student account or LUCAT.
- Google Scholar – by searching for a title, you can find links to various versions of the article, the published version via Full Text Finder or directly to the publisher, but also preprints, which are accessible in institutional archives. See PubMed and Google Scholar for LU Linker in Google Scholar.
- PubMed – search for the whole title, if you get many results, enter the title between quotation marks, e.g. "Management of early and locally advanced cervical cancer". There is an LU version of Pubmed, see PubMed and Google Scholar. When you have clicked on an article in Pubmed, each entry has an Full Text Finder icon in the top right-hand corner. The icon appears for all articles. When you click on it, you get to the full text if LU is subscribed to the journal, if not, you reach the links for requesting the article.
Via the journal’s website
With a known, complete reference, you can locate a specific article with a limited number of clicks. Usually, you can both click through to the article in the journal’s archive by year, number and volume, and search for the article’s title in the journal with the local search engine.
Access to full text depends on which intranet you are on and whether you have logged in using your student account or LUCAT ID.
Find the journals’ websites through:
Please note! If you are outside the University’s network, it is an advantage to go through LUBsearch and log in with your student account or LUCAT ID, as it is not possible to log in directly to the various publishers or suppliers.