LibGuides: IIIEE Library and information resources guide: For researchers: Academic publishing and OA

Disseminate your research

If you make your publications freely available on the Internet - their usage and number of citations will increase. At Lund University you are recommended, when possible, to publish the full text of your research publications in Lund University Publications (LUP). If you do, your research will be much more visible than if you don't, through Google, the Lund University website and the Swedish national database of research publications, Swepub.

It is also important that you are aware that your research might be funded by an organisation that requires you to make your research freely available. You can check policies from both publishing houses and research funders below in SHERPA RoMEO and SHERPA JULIET.

Everything you need to know to use Lund University Publications (LUP)
Information and links to the registration site.
Direct link to LUP registration
Log in with your LUCAT to see your registered publications and to register new ones.
Open Access
Information regarding Open Access and copyright issues from Lund University Libraries website.
SHERPA/RoMEO
Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving. Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
SHERPA JULIET
Use this page to find a summary of policies given by various research funders as part of their grant awards
Funding from LU for the article processing cost in open access journals
Information on how to apply for additional funds to cover the processing charge that is applied by some OA journals.
RefMole
Usefule tool if you wish to embed your publications in your website, blog or Linkedin page. The service creates an embed javascript code. "RefMole is a powerful feature for presenting references from LUP on any web page.RefMole will dig a tunnel to the stored data in LUP and bring the requested information to you on the fly. He's fast, he's cute, he's well-read. He's RefMole."
The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
"SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences."
Swepub
"Academic publications at Swedish universities. Search among scholarly articles, conference papers and dissertations etc."

Why deposit in LUP or choose an OA journal?

Examples of OA journals you could consider submitting articles to

Consilienc : The Journal of Sustainable Development
Consilience is an online journal dedicated to promoting interdisciplinary dialogue on sustainable development. This journal aims to bring students, researchers, professors, and practitioners from a variety of disciplines and geographical regions in direct conversation with each other through an online, academically rigorous medium. Consilience publishes scholarly articles, opinion pieces, field notes, editorial columns and photo essays. By providing a public platform for discussion, we hope to encourage a global community to think more broadly, thoroughly, and analytically about sustainable development. The journal is run by a team of undergraduate and graduate students, under the guidance of faculty from Columbia University in the City of New York.
Energy and Environment Research
Energy and Environment Research (EER) is a double-blind peer-reviewed international journal dedicated to promoting scholarly exchange among scientists and researchers in the field of energy and environment. The journal is published in both print and online versions by the Canadian Center of Science and Education.
International Journal of the Commons
The International Journal of the Commons (IJC) is an initiative of the International Association for the Study of the Commons (IASC).

As an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed open-access journal, the IJC is dedicated to furthering the understanding of institutions for use and management of resources that are (or could be) enjoyed collectively. These resources may be part of the natural world (e.g. forests, climate systems, or the oceans) or they may emerge from social realities created by humans (e.g. the internet or (scientific) knowledge, for example of the sort that is published in open-access journals).
Journal of Management and Sustainability
Journal of Management and Sustainability (JMS) is an international, double-blind peer-reviewed, open-access journal for academics and practitioners of sustainable management. Published by the Canadian Center of Science and Education, JMS aims to provide an avenue for high-quality research in the fields of environmental sustainability, corporate social responsibility, economic sustainability and any disciplines concerning the interaction between management and enterprise sustainable development. The journal is published in both print and online versions.
Journal of Research for Consumers
The Journal of Research for Consumers is a Web-based interdisciplinary journal publishing consumer research that furthers the interests of consumers through information provision and theoretical advancements. Empirical, theoretical, and methodological articles are featured, along with commentaries and essays that seek to further consumers' understanding of the consumption process and its many implications. The Journal is a "free-to-air" online-only journal. Submissions are double-blind peer-reviewed. The journal is published bi-annually
Nordic Environmental Law Journal
The journal publishes articles of importance for environmental law research and development in the Nordic countries (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden). The articles focus on environmental law from a national, EU or international perspective.

The journal's objective is to address environmental legal theoretical issues related to sustainable development. From that perspective the journal may include a wide range of topics including, inter alia, the quality of land, water and air (including climate), maintaining biodiversity, efficient use of natural resources and energy, control of waste and chemicals, the relation between trade and the environment and environmental perspectives on human rights.
Smart Grid and Renewable Energy
Smart Grid and Renewable Energy (SGRE) is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancement of smart grid and renewable energy. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of smart grid and renewable energy.
Solutions
Solutions is a nonprofit print and online publication devoted to showcasing bold and innovative ideas for solving the world's integrated ecological, social, and economic problems.

Our mission is to provide a forum for developing and discussing seriously creative ideas to solve society's most pressing problems in an integrated way.
Sustainability
Sustainability (ISSN 2071-1050; CODEN: SUSTDE), an international and cross-disciplinary, scholarly, open access journal of environmental, cultural, economic and social sustainability of human beings, which provides an advanced forum for studies related to sustainability and sustainable development, is published by MDPI online monthly.
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy (SSPP) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal that provides a platform for the dissemination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability. The e-Journal fills a gap in the literature by establishing a forum for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical science as well as practice and policy developments related to sustainability. SSPP facilitates communication among scientists, practitioners, and policy makers who are investigating and shaping nature-society interactions and working towards sustainable solutions.

Tools for journal comparison

Journal Citation Reports, JCR (ISI)
Compare the citations and impact factors of scholarly journals.
mer...mindre...
The ISI Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides access to data that helps you evaluate and compare scholarly journals, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. It shows: the highest impact journals, the most frequently used journals, the hottest journals, the largest journals.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
Here you'll find SCImago Journal Rank indicator (SJR indicator) for evaluation of journals, buliding upon data from the Scpous database.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
A database with bibliographic information for about a quarter of a million journals. You are able to get a view of the journal´s content and publication information. Look under "Document Type" to see if the journal is scholarly.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, in all subjects and many different languages

IIIEE Library and information resources guide

Disseminate your research

Why deposit in LUP or choose an OA journal?

Examples of OA journals you could consider submitting articles to

Tools for journal comparison

Publications from IIIEE, in LUP