Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries


The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information.
IEDO are part of Brill Online Dictionaries and include the following titles: Etymological Dictionary of the Armenian Inherited Lexicon ; Etymological Dictionary of the Baltic Inherited Lexicon ; Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic ; Old Frisian Etymological Dictionary ; Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Germanic ; Etymological Dictionary of Greek ; Etymological Dictionary of the Hittite Inherited Lexicon ; Etymological Dictionary of the Iranian Verb ; Etymological Dictionary of Latin ; Cuneiform Luvian Lexicon ; Reconstructing Proto-Nostratic ; Etymological Dictionary of the Slavic Inherited Lexicon ; Etymological Dictionary of Tocharian B.

For more reference works from Brill, please see Brill Reference & eBooks.

Information

Name Indo-Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO)
Publisher/Provider Brill Academic Publishers
Subjects included Classics, Linguistics, South Asian Studies
Type of resource Platform with reference works
Fulltext format HTML
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download  - -
Download and read offline No
Download to a portable device No
Copying You may electronically download and save a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook, for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to download and save a whole ebook.
Printing You may print a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to print out a whole ebook.
Text to speech Yes, the HTML format is compatible with text-to-speech software. If the text is not in english, a text-to-speech including the other language must be used in order to listen to the text.
Export references Yes
Export formats Mendeley, Connotea, Researchgate, Citeulike
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Pass on documents: Authorized users (students and staff at Lund University) may distribute a copy of documents in print or electronic form to other authorized users at Lund University, but only for the purpose of research and private study.
Course Packs: No, you are not allowed to create course packs, but teachers at Lund University may distribute a printed, single copy of an article, chapter or entry for teaching purposes to each individual student in a class.
Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Brill Online, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving librarian and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. The transaction may not be for Commercial Use (= ingen ekonomisk ersättning). By document is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete journal volume or a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous Information about Personal Tools on Brill (search history, alerts etc)