Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: SAGE Knowledge Books & Reference


The SAGE Knowledge platform includes both ebooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks. Please note that Lund University Libraries does not have access to all content on SAGE Knowledge. By default all titles on the platform will display in Search and Browse results whether LUB have access to them or not.
Titles that we have no access to are market with a black padlock on the book cover.

SAGE Navigator is a social sciences literature review tool hosted on SAGE Knowledge, it covers almost 300 topics in 10 subject areas, each introduced by renowned academics. References to key readings for each subject are included. Navigator includes all SAGE print Major Works, but only in abstract form, not in full text. The reason is that material from other publishers are included and SAGE do not own the rights to the full text. In cases where LU have a license, links to full text are provided. Each record includes a link to the library, Find in Library. Navigator is no longer updated with new titles.

LU:s holdings on SAGE Knowledge include:
* SAGE Book Collections: Criminology, Geography, Sociology
* SAGE Books: a selected number of individual ebooks
* SAGE Reference: a selected number of Handbooks, Encyclopedias and other reference works
* Sage Video (Communication and Media Studies)

LU also subscribes to the database Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) and SAGE Journals (available on another platform).

Information för bibliotekarier
SAGE Journals köps via BIBSAM och har ett eget licensavtal, men SAGE tillåter enligt detta avtal både Fjärrlån, Course packs, Scholarly sharing samt utskrift & nerladdning enligt samma villkor som nedan. Däremot är Text and Data Mining inte tillåten. För återanvändning av material utöver vad som anges nedan måste du kontakta SAGE Journals Permissions.

Information

Name SAGE Knowledge
Publisher/Provider SAGE Publications
Subjects included Social Sciences, Sociology, Criminology, Geography, Communication, Media.
Type of resource Platform with books, reference works and video in fulltext
Fulltext format PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time).
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, the PDF-files can be downloaded.
Download to a portable device Yes
Copying Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may download and print individual items solely for educational, personal, scientific, or research purposes. By individual item is meant one (1) article or chapter not exceeding ten percent (10%) of any individual book or journal issue.
Printing Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may download and print individual items solely for educational, personal, scientific, or research purposes. By individual item is meant one (1) article or chapter not exceeding ten percent (10%) of any individual book or journal issue.
Text to speech Yes, the HTML-files are compatible with text-to-speech software
Export references Yes
Export formats EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks, BibTeX, Zotero
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to SAGE fulltext content, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries from designated terminals.
Course Packs: Yes, registered students and staff may use single articles, chapters and other individual items of the content for the preparation of academic and educational course materials including print-outs and copies in print, with all the rights notices duly presented.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another library with a single paper or electronic copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study, but not for commercial use. This can be done by post or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving library and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. All existing copyright notices must be included on all ILL. Please note that by ‘Document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining Policy  
Miscellaneous Books Permissions: SAGE Publishing has partnered with the Copyright Clearance Center for the administration of requests for permission to re-use and/or photocopy SAGE content. In most cases, requests made through the Copyright Clearance Center can be processed immediately. Please visit Books Permissions for instructions.