Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Gale Cengage (GVRL)


Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is a platform that contains electronic versions of printed books - reference works, encyclopedias and handbooks. You can search a single ebook, within a subject, or across LUB's entire ebook collection.

Please note that Lund University Libraries does not have access to all titles on GVRL, these are the titles owned by LUB: 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook ; Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa ; Encyclopaedia Judaica ; Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development  ; Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology ; Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology ; Encyclopedia of Religion ; Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender ; Encyclopedia of World Poverty ; Endangered Species ; Environmental Encyclopedia ; Gale Encyclopedia of Science ; Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia ; Homelessnes Handbook ; International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences ; Pollution A to Z ; Water: Science and Issues.

Information

Name Gale Virutal Reference Library
Publisher/Provider Gale Cengage Learning
Subjects included Education, Environment, History, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science, Social Science.
Type of resource Platform with ebooks in full text
Fulltext format HTML, PDF, MP3
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, if the device supports PDF format and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Download to a portable device Yes. If you open GVRL on an iPad you can download both PDF and MP3 files directly. You can also drag and drop PDF files from your computer to your device (when connected via USB), and send PDF documents directly to a Kindle eReader (via your @Kindle address).
Copying Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may download one (1) copy of an item for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to download or copy a whole ebook. By individual item is meant one (1) article or entry from a book.
Printing Authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University may print one (1) copy of an item for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to print out a whole ebook. By individual item is meant one (1) article or entry from a book.
Text to speech Yes. You can listen to an article or download it as an MP3 file, open the ebook to see the toolbar for this. Before the MP3 opens you must agree to this message: “Downloaded material is for your educational, noncommercial use only. Agree?” Both Listen and Download MP3 works on an iPad. For more information see Instructions in the General information above.
Export references Yes
Export formats EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, RefWorks. You can save references to: MLA 7th Edition or APA 6th Edition.
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Pass on documents: Students and staff may not distribute copies (in print or electronically) of licensed material to other authorized users at Lund University, not even for research, private study or otherwise.
Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Gale Virtual Reference Library, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, Gale Cengage allows for ILL requests but only in print format, interlibrary loan or supply of copies in any electronic format (i.e. via e-mail) is not permitted. Librarians may deliver one (1) copy of an article or entry as hard copy to another library, for personal use or scholarly, educational, or scientific research or professional use, but in no case for Commercial Use. Print copies may be sent  via post or fax to other academic, research or non-commercial libraries in Sweden (but not outside).
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous The GVRL interface is available in several languages including Swedish, for example: Dansk, Deutsch, English, Español, Francais, Suomi and many more. To choose language see the drop-down menu on the upper right-hand side of GVRL. Please note that even if you change the interface to another language the text will be read in English if you choose Listen/MP3.