Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Oxford Scholarship Online


The University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) platform includes a number of so called Partner Presses and their respective collections of academic ebooks in fulltext, Lund University Libraries (LUB) have access to more than 15,200 ebooks on UPSO (September 2018). LUB have access to Oxford Scholarship Online from Oxford University Press with 20 complete subject collections, as well as individual ebooks from several Partner Presses, e.g. MIT Press, University of Chicago Press and others. LUB also have access to the OSO Archive of older ebooks included in the subject collections. If you are new to this resource you can Take a Tour (PDF) to see how it works.

University Press Scholarship Online is an open platform which means that you can preview table of contents and abstracts for all titles, but fulltext is only available for owned titles.
Titles that are owned by LUB appear with an open green padlock = Unlocked
Titles not owned by LUB appear with a closed red padlock = Restricted
UPSO also includes some Open Acess ebooks, these are marked 'Free', but please note that these ebooks still are under copyright (for more information see 'Terms of use'). This is how you can see all titles owned by LUB:
1. Choose the option 'All Partner Presses' above the Search box
2. Click on 'Search' without entering a search word
3. To the left there is a column called 'Narrow Your Choices', now check the box for 'Unlocked' and press 'Submit'.

In the Result List of LUBsearch and ePublications there is a link to 'Terms of Use' where you will find information about the number of simultaneous users and the terms of use for downloading and printing for each individual ebook:


The number of concurrent users
As of january 2015 most of the ebooks on Oxford Scholarship Online has a limitation of six (6) concurrent users. However, for a few titles a second copy with an unlimited number of concurrent users has been purchased, these titles are also included in the subscribed OSO collections:

  • Environmental Integration in Competition and Free-Movement Laws - Julian Nowag (Print ISBN: 978-0-19-875380-3)
  • Handbook of International Social Work: Human Rights, Development, and the Global Profession - Lynne M. Healy and Rosemary J. Link (Print ISBN: 9780195333619)
  • Killing in War (Uehiro series in practical ethics) - Jeff McMahan (Print ISBN: 978-0-19-160947-3|978-0-19-954866-8)
  • Leading Professionals: Power, Politics, and Prima Donnas - Laura Empson (Print ISBN: 9780198744788)
  • Multidimensional Poverty Measurement and Analysis - Sabina Alkire, James Foster, Suman Seth, et al. (Print ISBN: 9780199689491)
  • Raciolinguistics: How Language Shapes Our Ideas About Race - John R Rickford, Arnetha F Ball, H Samy Alim (Print ISBN: 978-0-19-062569-6)
  • The Hybrid Media System: Politics and Power - Andrew Chadwick (Print ISBN: 9780199759477)
  • The Rights of War and Peace - Richard Tuck (Print ISBN: 978-0-19-103742-9|978-0-19-924814-8)
  • The Work of Managers: Towards a Practice Theory of Management - Stefan Tengblad (Print ISBN: 9780199639724)

These titles are only included in the Partner Presses:

  • Take Back the Economy: An Ethical Guide for Transforming Our Communities  -  J. K. Gibson-Graham et al. Minnesota University Press (Print ISBN: 9780816676064)
  • The Evaluation Society  -  Peter Dahler-Larsen. Stanford University Press (Print ISBN: 9780804776929)

Information

Name Oxford Scholarship Online
Publisher/Provider Oxford University Press
Subjects included Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Neuroscience, Palliative Care, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology, Religion, Social Work, Sociology.
Type of resource Platform with ebooks in HTML format.
Fulltext format HTML and PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Six (6) concurrent users (people reading at the same time).
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, but not to a portable device.
Download to a portable device No, at present it is not possible to download the PDF's either to or from any portable device (the Download Chapter link is not available when using a portable device).
Copying You may electronically save single copies of individual chapters of an ebook by downloading it to PDF. This means you can download an individual chapter from each Oxford Scholarship title, or up to 5% of the pages of any title, whichever is the greater. Click on the Download Chapter (PDF) link at the top of the full text chapter page. A new window opens, click on Proceed to open the PDF and download. You may not download and copy an entire ebook.                  
Printing You may print out single copies of individual chapters of an ebook to PDF. This means you can print up to a single chapter from each Oxford Scholarship title, or up to 5% of the pages of any title, whichever is the greater. You may not print out an entire ebook. Please note that if you are printing documents that contains formulas, tables etc, you must choose the Print option in order for the rendering to be accurate. Please see the Printing FAQ above.
Text to speech Yes, the PDF-files are compatible with text-to-speech software.
Export references Yes
Export formats ProCite, Endnote, Reference Manager, RefWorks, Bibtex, and Zotero.
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Oxford Scholarship Online, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Course Packs: Authorized users (registered students and staff) may incorporate single portions of individual chapters in printed or electronic course packs for the use of authorized users for educational purpose. Each course pack must carry acknowledgement of the source. All copies (print and electronic) of the course packs must be deleted when the course ends. Please note that electronic course packs may not in in any way or form be posted on the Internet.
Pass on documents: No, students, teachers and researchers may not pass on copies (in print or electronically) of licensed material to other students, teachers and researchers at Lund University, not even for research, private study or otherwise.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another publicly funded library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper or electronic copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study, but not for commercial use. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving library and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. Please note that by ‘Document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining Policy Oxford University Press recognizes the research benefit of Text and Data Mining (TDM) accross a variety of fields. As such, OUP are happy to accomodate TDM for non-commercial use. OUP offers consultation with a technical project manager to assist in planning your project, including avoidance of any technical safeguard triggers OUP has in place to protect the stability and security of their websites that may result in LU being blocked from access to the OUP websites. To request a consultant for your TDM project, please email Data.Mining@oup.com OUP is also happy to consider any Commercial TDM requests. To request approval for TDM for commercial use, please email Data.Mining@oup.com
Miscellaneous You can sign up for My Work, a free personalization account which allows you to save links to favourite titles, chapters, and also save searches.