Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Oxford Handbooks Online


Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO) contains a series of handbooks in eighteen (18) subject collections where each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve. OHO is updated with new titles three times a year.

Please note that Lund University Libraries only have access to six subject collections:
1. Business and Management
2. Economics and Finance
3. Music
4. Philosophy

5. Political Science
6. Religion

Only titles with this icon (= Unlocked) are included in LUB's subscription. If you browse all titles you can narrow the list 'By Availability' and check the box "Unlocked" to see only books that are available for LUB. If you are new to the OHO platform, please see this Video Tutorial.

Information

Name Oxford Handbooks Online
Publisher/Provider Oxford University Press
Subjects included Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion
Type of resource Platform with ebooks in full text
Fulltext format HTML and PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes, if the device supports PDF format and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Download to a portable device  
Copying You may save an individual essay/chapter to PDF from Oxford Handbooks Online for personal use. This means you can download up to an individual essay/chapter from each Oxford Handbooks Online title, or up to 5% of the pages of any title, whichever is the greater. Click on the Full Essay PDF icon on the left hand menu of the full text chapter page.
Printing You may print content from Oxford Handbooks Online by essay/chapter unit for personal use. This means you can print up to an individudual essay/chapter from each Oxford Handbooks Online title, or up to 5% of the pages of any title, whichever is the greater. Click on the Printer Friendly Page icon on the left hand menu of the full text chapter page.
Text to speech Yes, Oxford Handbooks Online has full W3C Priority 1 and 2 compliance, as well as most applicable Priority 3 items and should work with most popular screen-reading software.
Export references Yes
Export formats EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Oxford Handbooks Online, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Course Packs: Authorized users (registered students and staff) may incorporate single portions of individual chapters in printed or electronic course packs for the use of authorized users for educational purpose. Each course pack must carry acknowledgement of the source. All copies (print and electronic) of the course packs must be deleted when the course ends. Please note that electronic course packs may not in in any way or form be posted on the Internet.
Pass on documents: No, students, teachers and researchers may not pass on copies (in print or electronically) of licensed material to other students, teachers and researchers at Lund University, not even for research, private study or otherwise.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another publicly funded library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper or electronic copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study, but not for commercial use. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving library and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. Please note that by ‘Document’ is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Datamining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous