Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Britannica Online


The Britannica Academic edition is specially designed for the needs of colleges and academic libraries. It combines Encyclopædia Britannica, which is no longer published in print format, and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Also included in Britannica academic edtion is World Data Analyst - a database that consists of current and historical statistics on the countries of the world. World Data Analyst allows you to create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet. Britannica eBooks - nonfiction texts covering a wide range of academic subjects. Merriam-Webster Unabridged Online - a comprehensive database of words which allow users to research language and study words in a variety of ways. Global Reference Center - an extensive collection of Britannica’s trustworthy information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Extensive coverage of subjects such as art, geography, history, politics, science, technology, and others. World Atlas - an interactive atlas with thousands of maps, flags, articles, and statistics. Compare Countries - side-by-side comparisons of countries.

Can I obtain permission to use images from Britannica Online?
"Unfortunately, Britannica cannot give explicit permission for you to use the images and diagrams that appear on Britannica Online because third-party companies hold the copyright to most of them. Granting you permission to use them would leave us in violation of our own copyright agreements. Luckily, most of the images on Britannica Online are displayed with the name of the original copyright owner listed in the credit. If you wish to use one of these images, you are free to contact the copyright owner for permission".

Lund University also have access to Britannica Image Quest - an image library with almost three million images from top international collections, rights-cleared for educational use. Please go to Image Quest for information on use of images for authorized users (registered students and staff) at Lund University.

Information

Name Encyclopedia Britannica, Academic edition
Publisher/Provider Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.
Subjects included See description above
Type of resource  
Fulltext format HTML, images, video, audio etc
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline For information about Britannica for iPad and Windows, and the Britannica App, please visit the Encyclopedia Britannica Technical Support Site.
Download to a portable device See information above.
Copying  
Printing  
Text to speech No
Export references Yes, citations can be exported.
Export formats MLA, APA, Harvard, Chicago Manual of Style
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Encyclopedia Britannica, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries from designated terminals.
Course Packs: Material from Britannica Online may not be used to assemble a print course pack, create a link to the item instead.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous