Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology


The online version of the Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology includes more than 4,000 entries, written by hundreds of authors, from dozens of countries. The dictionary is a valuable reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, covering hymns from many countries and languages, historical and contemporary hymn writers, traditions from a wide range of denominations. It includes articles on individual hymns, authors, hymnals, related organizations, tunes, composers, as well as general topic articles.

This resource replaces and updates the 1892 'Dictionary of Hymnology' by John Julian, including the 1907 supplement and is the work of a team of editors headed by Professor J.R. Watson, University of Durham, UK, and Dr Emma Hornby, University of Bristol, UK. The interface includes a basic keyword searching function, with results able to be limited by era, place, tradition, role of a person, and other facets. You can browse by category, such as literary topics, Hymns in Latin, specific place, specific era, traditions, and role of a person. You can also browse alphabetically by the title of the article.

Information

Name The Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
Publisher/Provider  
Subjects included Theological education, Christian Hymns, Hymnwriters, History, Hymn texts, Hymn tunes.
Type of resource  
Fulltext format  
Accessibility  
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users  
Download required  
Must be borrowed  
Number of days for download  
Download and read offline?  
Download to a portable device  
Copying  
Printing  
Text to speech  
Export references  
Export formats  
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån       
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous: