Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: Early English/European Books


Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains more than 125,000 titles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700. Early European Books builds upon and complements EEBO, and is largely concerned with non-Anglophone materials; all works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, are included together with all pre- 1701 works in European languages printed further afield.

Both collections offers full-colour, or greyscale, high-resolution facsimile images scanned directly from the original printed source. Each item is captured in its entirety, complete with binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages, and loose inserts.

Early English Books Online, 1473-1700 (EEBO)
Lund University have access to all four EEBO collections:
* Early English Books I, 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave, STC I), Units 1-81 (comprising reels 1-2303 of this microfilm collection)
* Early English Books II, 1641-1700 (Wing, STC II), Units 1-132 (comprising reels 1-2960 of this microfilm collection)
* The Thomason Tracts Collection
* The Early English Books Tract Supplement Collection, Unit 1

Early European Books, printed sources to 1700 (EEB)
EEB are available in four languages: English, Danish, Italian and Nederlands. Lund University have access to these three collections:
* Collection 1 : Royal Library of Denmark in Copenhagen (KBDK)
* Collection 2 : Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (BCNF)
* Collection 3 : BNCF, KBNL and Wellcome volumes

Information

Name Early English Books Online and Early European Books
Publisher/Provider Chadwyck-Healy (ProQuest)
Subjects included  
Type of resource  
Fulltext format PDF, TIFF, Document image. In order to view some of the content in EEBO and EEB we recommend that you have Adobe Reader installed on your computer. The Table of Contents opens in a pop-up so if you have a pop-up blocker you must deactivate it to be able to view them.
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time).
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline  
Download to a portable device  
Copying  
Printing  
Text to speech  
Export references  
Export formats  
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions  

Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån

 
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous Info for Mac users: Mac users who access EEBO using Internet Explorer might experience difficulties from time to time when trying to download PDF documents from EEBO. Unfortunately nothing can be done about this as the problem is in the browser. Other Mac supported browsers like Safari do not present this problem.