Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: CAB eBooks


CAB eBooks are divided into six subject areas and four collections and Lund University have access to all content:

1. CAB eBooks Front File (2011-present): There are currently more than 200 books in this collection.
2. CAB eBooks Archive (2008-2010): Contains all 121 CAB eBooks published over this three year period.
3. CAB eBooks Archive (2005-2007): Contains all 166 CAB eBooks published over this three year period.
4. CAB eBooks Archive (2000-2004): Contains 244 titles (over 4,000 chapters).


Lund University also have access to three reference works titles from CABI.

Information

Name CAB eBooks
Publisher/Provider CABI (Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International)
Subjects included Agriculture, Animal & Veterinary Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Human Health, Food & Nutrition, Leisure & Tourism, Plant Sciences
Type of resource Platform with ebooks
Fulltext format PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline No
Download to a portable device Yes, if the device supports PDF format.
Copying You may electronically download and save a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook, for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to download and save a whole ebook.
Printing You may print a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to print out a whole ebook.
Text to speech Yes, the PDF-files are compatible with text-to-speech software
Export references No
Export formats No
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Pass on documents: The ebook PDF's are not restricted by DRM (digital rights management) but both the books and their chapters are protected by copyright. The publisher (CABI) support the concept of "Fair use" that permits limited use of copyrighted material without acquiring permission from the rights holders. This means that you may download, print or e-mail content for the purposes of research, teaching or private study to other authorized users, but not outside Lund University.
Use in your own work: Users wishing to re-use articles or abstracts for purposes other than classroom or instructional use must contact CABI to obtain written permission: enquiries@cabi.org
Course Packs: You are not allowed to create course packs, but authorized users may distribute printed parts of the licensed material for classroom or instructional use, referring to the "Fair use" rules. This means individual articles and other items in a reasonable number, not a complete ebook.
Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to CAB eBooks, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians may supply another library in Sweden (but not outside) with a single paper copy of a document for the purposes of research or private study. This can be done by post, fax or electronically. If done electronically the file must be printed out by the recieving librarian and the electronic file deleted immediately after printing. The transaction may not be for Commercial Use (= ingen ekonomisk ersättning). By document is meant an individual chapter, an article or other single item, but not a complete ebook.
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy  
Miscellaneous The Front File collection is updated whenever a new title becomes available. For more information about CABI, please visit the CABI Blog.