Skip to main content
Lund University

eBooks @ Lund University Libraries: APA PsycBOOKS

PsycBOOKS is a fulltext database that includes ca 4,200 scholarly books and 60,545 chapters, coverage dates from 1620 to present day. The database is updated monthly. Content coverage includes:

  • 2,998 classic resources in Psychology
  • 1,058 books published by APA
  • All volumes in the APA Handbooks in Psychology series
  • 100 out-of-print books from between 1950–2002
  • Exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology

As of January 2013 access to PsycBOOKS have moved to the EBSCOhost platform. This also applies to PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycEXTRA and PsycTESTS.

Please note that PsycCRITIQUES has been discontinued by APA as of December 31, 2017.

Only these titles remain on the APA PsycNET platform:
* The PsycTHERAPY database - this database consists of streamed media (videos) that are only intended for educational and training purposes. Before you can access the database you must read and accept the disclaimer.
You will need Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher to be able to watch the videos. Please remember that the programs are copyrighted and may not be copied, reproduced, or disseminated without written permission of the Publisher.

These five titles have access on both PsycNET and PsycBOOKS (EBSCOhost):

* APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook. Shaffer, Howard. (2012) - 2 volumes
* APA Handbook of Behavior  Analvsis
. Madden, Gregory J. (2013) - 2 volumes
* APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
. Knapp, Samuel J. (2012) - 2 volumes
* APA Handbook of lndustrial  and Organzational  Psychology. Zedeck, Sheldon (Ed.), (2011) - 3 volumes

* APA Handbook  of Testing and Assessment  in Psychology. Geisinger, Kurt F (2013) - 3 volumes

Please note that the terms of use below are the same for all licensed APA material, whether it is accessed on EBSCOhost or on PsycNET.

Information

Name APA PsycBOOKS
Publisher/Provider American Psychological Association, APA and EBSCO Publishing
Subjects included Psychology, Social Sciences
Type of resource A database where the content consists of ebooks
Fulltext format PDF
Accessibility Via IP address
Login authentication required No, not on LU-campus. If you are off-campus you will be prompted to login via LU's Central Authentication Service (CAS) with a Student Account or LUCAT-ID.
Number of concurrent users Multiple concurrent access (multiple people reading at the same time)
Download required No
Must be borrowed No
Number of days for download - -
Download and read offline Yes. If you are not on your own computer you can send the PDF to your e-mail (see Tools in the right-hand menu) and read it later. If you open PsycBOOKS on your computer/device you can download the PDF directly via the ‘Download PDF’ option in the blue bar at the top of the service.
Download to a portable device Yes, if the device supports PDF format and Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Copying You may electronically download and save a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook, for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to download and save a whole ebook.
Printing You may print a single copy of an individual chapter, an article or other single item of an ebook for personal use for scholarly purposes, research and educational use. You are not allowed to print out a whole ebook.
Text to speech Yes, the PDF-files are compatible with text-to-speech software
Export references Yes
Export formats Reference software, RefWorks. Some titles in the records require editing to conform to APA style
How do I suggest a purchase Students and staff: Please contact your faculty library.
Librarians: Se Förvärv av elektroniska resurser för mer info.
Restrictions Course Packs: Yes, you may incorporate parts of the licensed material in a coursepack, but before doing so you must read about the restrictions that apply: APA Policy on Course packs and Electronic Reserve.
Walk-in users: Users not affiliated with Lund University may be permitted access to PsycBOOKS, but only within the physical premises of Lund University Libraries.
Interlibrary loan / Fjärrlån Yes, librarians are allowed to fill ILL requests, but only with the restrictions outlined by APA.
Text and Data Mining (TDM) Policy
Miscellaneous The database is updated monthly with new titles