There are several ways to monitor the information flow from different sources and to keep updated with things inside as well as outside the academic world.
It is often possibel to create alerts in your favorite databases. You will receive a message when a new match to your subject area has entered the database.
RSS / Podcast Feeds
RSS is a way to follow feeds (news from websites, newspapers and others) in your own RSS-reader (like Google Reader), instead of having to visit every website yourself. Some web browsers have RSS reader where you can save your favourites.
Many researchers, politicians and journalists have interesting blogs that yo can follow. Look at the examples under "Blogs".
Research and project databases
What´s going on? Check out the research and project databases! Many funders have databases where you can find information on ongoing research.
In most databases it is possible to create alerts. It might vary somewhat between different databases, but it usually is connected to a user account that you create in the database.
Find out how to create search alerts and journal alerts in the EBSCO-databases (My EBSCOhost) below:
Lund University has campus license for two reference management tools: EndNote and RefWorks. EndNote must be downloaded to your computer while RefWorks is web based. You find more information on how to start using the tools in the guid Reference management.
Here is a list of some tools for monitoring and gathering information, most of the are freely available for everyone:
Following relevant blogs is a way to keep updated with discussions within your subject area. Here are some examples of social science blogs and blog portals: