LibGuides: Master of Arts in Language and Linguistics Programme: Resources

Databases A-Z

A list of databases available at Lund University can be found here.

General databases

A list of general databases:

LUP. Lund University publications (LUP) is a database that collects dissertations and other research publications from Lund University.

SwePub collects articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, etc from swedish universities.

Web of Science is an online academic citation index. The multidisciplinary coverage encompasses 11,261 journals selected on the basis of impact evaluations.

Subject resources

These are but a few of the relevant electronic resources Lund Univeristy subscribes to. You'll find more in LUBsearch and the database list.

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Cambridge University Press publishes a range of dictionaries for learners of English all around the world.
Database of Latin Dictionaries Online (DLD)
The BREPOLS Database of Latin Dictionaries is comprised of a large number of Latin dictionaries and contain three kinds of dictionaries:

* Dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages.
* Dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words.
* Historical Latin dictionaries.
Humanities International Complete (HIC)
Humanities International Complete (HIC) includes all data from the Humanities International Index, which is more than 2,200 journals and 2.71 million records. HIC also provides full text for more than 1,000 journals and more than 400 books and monographs, as well as unique full text journal and book content and other published sources from around the world, much of which is not found in other databases.
Larousse
The French National Encyclopedia and Dictionarty. The dictionary translates to and from French/English, French/Spanish, French/German, French/Italian
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA covers literature on all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliographyoffers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers in Literature, Language and Linguistics, Folklore, Literary Theory & Criticism, Dramatic Arts, etc. The subscription only allows for four (4) concurrent users.

Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains a number of english and bilingual dictionaries, as well as an extensive english language reference section, with dictionaries devoted to slang, idioms, etymology, etc.
Svenska Akademiens Ordbok (SAOB)
The Dictionary of the Swedish Academy (Svenska Akademiens Ordbok, SAOB, official title Ordbok över svenska språket utgiven av Svenska Akademien) is the Swedish counterpart of the Oxford English Dictionary. The dictionary is an extensive historical mapping of the Swedish language from 1521 to the present.
The concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics
This dictionary provides over 3150 entries on all aspects of linguistics, from phonetics to formal semantics. It includes worldwide coverage of language families and major languages.