Skip to main content
Lund University

Reference management: How do I....?

A Libguide on how to use software tools for reference management

About this section

 

Here are some "How to..." tips. If you can't find what you are looking for, please consult the subsite "FAQ:s and tutorials". You can almost always find answers by searching these or google your question.

As an employee or student at the Faculty of Social Sciences you can always contact us, either Ann-Sofie Zettergren, Maja Carlson or Sara Rondahl by e-mail: ref@sambib.lu.se.

... get started

Installing the software:
STAFF
Contact your IT-department if you wish to install EndNote. 
LU Servicedesk offers some support for technical questions, once you have downloaded the installation file to your computer.
 
STUDENT
You can download EndNote from the Student Portal.

... find my lost floating CWYW toolbar in Mac?

CWYW toolbar in Mac

If you lost your floating CWYW toolbar in Word (Mac), you just:

1. Go to the top menu bar for Word.
2. Click on View | Toolbars.
3. Click on "EndNote X8" (if it's not already ticked). 

... find full text

The Find Full Text feature in EndNote will try to find as many available full texts as possible automatically. In order to control this, insert the following:

  • Look at Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text.
  • OpenURL Path: http://lulinker.lub.lu.se
  • Authenticate with URL: http://ludwig.lub.lu.se
  • Click Apply and then OK.
  • Go to your Library and mark your references, click "Find Full text" in the References menu or click the icon .

NB! Not all available full texts will be retrieved using this feature. You might need to add full texts manually as well.

... edit an output style

If you are almost happy with a certain style – use that one as a starting point, it is easier than creating a new one:
 
  • Look at Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager.
  • Choose style and click Edit.
  • To save the style, go to File > Save As and rename it.
  • Now you have a new style for changes as well as the original style saved.
  • If your desired change is minimal, use Convert to Plain Text (in Word) to the finished document instead of making changes to the style.
  • Make a copy and use the ”Search and replace”-function in Word.

... use CWYW

With the CWYW (Cite While You Write) tool you can insert references from your EndNote Library into a Word document and create a bibliography according to an output style of your choice. If EndNote is installed correctly, you get an extra Word top menu called EndNote X9.

Here are some examples on how to use the CWYW tool:
 
Insert citations:
  • By using Insert Citation   Find Citation you search for a reference in your EndNote library.
  • Mark a reference of your choice and click Insert.

Edit an inserted citation:

  • Use Edit Citation(s) to edit your references in Word without changing the EndNote library.
  • You can...
    ... Insert page numbers in one of your citations.
    ... Remove Year or Author from the in-text citation.

Share and send a paper (without the EndNote connections):

  • Use Convert Citations and Bibliography  Convert to Plain Text to remove all formatting in a copy of your document,
    NB! You should always convert your document to plain text before sending it to someone else, for instance to a journal. EndNote automatically creates a copy of your document, remember to keep both documents if you want to keep editing your citations.

 

... export references from RefWorks into EndNote

If you have been using RefWorks but would like to use EndNote instead, just export your references and follow these steps:

  • Open your RefWorks account.
  • Select the references you want to export.
  • Go to the Share/Export menu and choose "Export references".
  • Choose to export as RIS format.
  • Open your EndNote library.
  • Go to File > Import > File.
  • Choose your .ris-file as Import file.
  • Choose Import option: Reference manager (RIS)
  • Click Import.

Remember!

Remember!

To...... choose the right "mode" in your EndNote library when you're importing and managing references.
There are three different modes: 

1      2      3
     

  1. Integrated Library & Online Search Mode” - if you use the Direct Import option from this mode, all the references will be imported directly to your library.  If you know what you are looking for and have a very specified search this might work. However, you need to manually remove records which are of no interest to you. The same thing happens if you import references from a database using a saved text file.
  2. Local Library Mode” only shows the references you have saved in your library. You can easily create groups and searches for specific themes.
  3. Online search Mode (Temporary Library)”, here you can search via ”Online search” and upload references from saved files. Your hits are displayed in a temporary group and you can move the interesting records to your library (by right-click, choose ”Copy reference to…” and then choose library).